LibGuides: Nursing Research: Nursing Databases

About databases

The appropriate database for your research needs depends on many factors such as subject matter and level of study (undergraduate vs graduate).

If you are a graduate student in nursing, you should look at CINAHL Complete and MEDLINE Complete together.

For an assignment in an undergrad general education course on health concerns, a more general database such as Health Source may serve your needs better.

When first exploring any topic, a Basic Search in the Library's Discovery Service is a good starting place.

MEDLINE and CINAHL
Searches both MEDLINE Complete and CINAHL Complete together on EBSCOhost.

Bushnell University Discovery Services

Guests may choose Advanced Search to find items in our library without logging in.

eBook Central (thousands of eBooks in every subject)

Best Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHLComplete is the worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHLComplete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness... indexing going back as far as 1984, and full text going back to 1990.
It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.